Study on the Synthesis and Antimicrobial Assay of Some Novel 4-Thiazolidinone Derivatives Possessing Benzofuran, Quinoline and Pyrazole Moieties

This article describes simple, fast and convenient syntheses of six novel 4-thiazolidinone derivatives (3a-f) containing benzofuran, quinoline and pyrazole moieties. In the first step, six separate carbohydrazides (2a-f) were synthesised with 5-(benzofuran-2-yl)-1-phenyl-1H-pyrazole-3-carbohydrazide (2) and six separate 2-(p-tolyloxy)quinoline-3-carbaldehyde-3-carbohydrazide (2) reactions (1a-f). Similarly, 5-(benzofuran-2-yl)-N’-(2-(2-(p-tolyloxy) substituted quinoline-3-yl)-4-oxothiazolidin-3-yl)) is replaced in the second stage by 5-(benzofuran-2-yl)-N’-(2-(p-tolyloxy) Through the interaction of 2a-f with thioglycolic acid in the presence of anhydrous zinc chloride, -1-phenyl-1H-pyrazole-3-carboxamide (3a-f) was prepared with excellent yield. Structural product 2a and 3a identifications are recorded on the basis of IR, 1H NMR, 13C NMR and Mass spectra and the analytical data obtained support the structure of the title compounds. In addition, these new products have been screened as the two preferred bacterial strains and two fungi such as C. albicans and A. niger using paper disc diffusion methods for their antimicrobial screening against S. aureus and E. coli. Antimicrobial screening has shown that the compounds are good antibacterial agents, but they have been found to be fungal inactive. In conclusion, the synthesis of some new 4-thiazolidinone derivatives with good yields of benzofuran, quinoline and pyrazole moieties, characterised by elemental and spectral studies such as IR, 1H NMR and mass spectra, has been published. Antimicrobial study of these synthesised compounds demonstrated improved bacterial activity but were ineffective against selected fungi.

Author (s) Details

Dr. M. Idrees
Department of Chemistry, Government Institute of Science, Nagpur (M.S.), 440001, India.

Dr. Y. G. Bodkhe
Department of Chemistry, Government Science College, Gadchiroli-442 605, India.

Dr. N. J. Siddiqui
Department of Chemistry, Government Institute of Science, Nagpur (M.S.), 440001, India.

View Book :-

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *